In retaliation for punitive penalties, Russia has sanctioned Vice President Joe Biden and several US lawmakers.

As President Vladimir Putin retaliated for punitive measures, Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov imposed sanctions against President Joe Biden, Secretary of State Antony Blinken, and a number of other senior US officials.

The statement came as the US announced new sanctions against Belarus’s President Alexander Lukashenko and 11 top Russian defense officials.

The Russian action effectively prevents Biden and 12 other US officials from entering Russia, including Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Gen. Mark Milley, Defense Secretary Lloyd Austin, and C.I.A. Director Bill Burns.

Daleep Singh, a National Security Council economist who is widely regarded as the architect of Russia sanctions, is also on the list.

High-profile personalities on the list include White House Press Secretary Jen Psaki and President Donald Trump’s troublesome son Hunter.

Former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, who was also on the list, recognized the humor in the situation.

‘I’d like to express my gratitude to the Russian Academy for this Lifetime Achievement Award,’ she tweeted.

The Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs stated in a statement that it was acting “in reaction to a series of unprecedented penalties” and that it was taking action “on the basis of reciprocity.”

The penalties come as the US and its allies have been putting growing pressure on Moscow in an attempt to isolate Russia and Putin’s cronies for weeks.

Russian forces appear to have halted in Ukraine, making little progress toward capturing the capital, Kyiv.

Instead, they have continued to strike Ukrainian cities and have utilized long-range missiles to assault sites in the country’s west.

On Tuesday, the State Department added to its list of restrictions, prohibiting Lukashenko and his family from entering the United States or transacting business with Americans.

‘Today’s designations show that the US will continue to impose clear and serious repercussions for those who participate in corruption or are linked to gross human rights violations,’ said Andrea Gacki, Director of the Office of Foreign Assets Control.

‘We condemn Russia’s strikes on Ukrainian humanitarian corridors and demand that it end its unwarranted and barbaric war against Ukraine.’

Belarus has previously been sanctioned by the US for its support for the Russian invasion, and export control restrictions have been extended to the country.

Joe Biden, president of the United States, is one of the 13 Americans sanctioned by Moscow.

Secretary of State Antony Blinken

Secretary of Defense Lloyd Austin

Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, Mark Milley

National security adviser Jake Sullivan

CIA Director Bill Burns

White House Press Secretary Jen Psaki

Deputy National Security Advisor for International Economic Affairs, Daleep Singh

Samantha Power is the administrator of the United States Agency for International Development (USAID).

Hunter Biden is the son of Vice President Joe Biden.

Former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton

Wally Adeyemo is the Treasury’s Deputy Secretary.

President of the Export-Import Bank of the United States, Reta Jo Lewis

Categorized as News

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *